Eligibility for Services

Developmental Disability Defined

The Arc of Fresno and Madera Counties provides services for individuals with developmental disabilities. The term, developmental disability, describes a number of conditions which permanently restricts an individual’s development. In California, developmental disability is defined as: a diagnosis, originating before age 18, of one or more of the following conditions: mental retardation, epilepsy, cerebral palsy, and autism. Individuals with Developmental Disabilities are eligible for services through the Regional Center System. Through the Regional Center System, we receive funds to provide valuable services to individuals with Developmental Disabilities. In order to qualify for services at The Arc of Fresno and Madera Counties, a person must be a client of Central Valley Regional Center. Individuals are referred to us through their Case Manager at Central Valley Regional Center. The services that we provide are funded by the state and federal government, individual donors and business for work performed. If you meet the eligibility criteria for The Arc of Fresno and Madera Counties, and want to apply to attend one of our programs, please follow the steps listed below:

  • Contact your Service Coordinator at CVRC
  • Arrange to tour one (or more) of our programs
  • Click Here to download the intake forms, or visit any of our offices for an application.
  • If you need assistance completing your forms, please stop by any of our offices and we will be happy to help you.
Subscribe To Our Mailing List